Ceremony sees in new Mayor of Portsmouth next week

Portsmouth’s Mayor Making ceremony takes place at Portsmouth Guildhall on Tuesday 17th May.

The new Lord Mayor of Portsmouth will be formally elected at the annual meeting of the council in the main hall of the prestigious building, from 10:00am.

Councillors will make nominations for the new Lord Mayor before voting to decide who will hold the role for the next year.

As part of the ceremony, the new Lord Mayor will receive the Keys of City and be presented with the Portsmouth Sword, which symbolises the interdependence of the Royal Navy and the city of Portsmouth.

The Honorary Freedom of the City of Portsmouth will also be conferred on Honrary Alderman Syd Rapson, and the Lord Mayor will present Civic Awards to members of the community nominated for their outstanding contribution to the life of the city.

Awards will be presented to Mr. Andrew Pearce, Jean Stanford, Mr. Tom Morton, and Mr. David Stemp. The Lord Mayor will also present the Youth Civic Award to Mr. Peter Marcus, as nominated by members of Portsmouth Youth Parliament.

Local residents are invited to attend and free tickets are available on a first-come-first-served basis. Call 02392 834 109 or email events@portsmouthcc.gov.uk, or collect them from Cosham Library or the Portsmouth Guildhall box office.

Doors open at 9:00am, and guests will be seated for 9:30am.