Lib Dem leader Gerald Vernon-Jackson becomes leader of Portsmouth City Council


Liberal Democrat group leader Councillor Gerald Vernon-Jackson has ousted Conservative leader Councillor Donna Jones as the new Leader of the Council, with Councillor Steve Pitt as his deputy.

Following the annual meeting of the full council today (Tuesday 15 May), a new minority administration will now run Portsmouth City Council.

Cabinet members have been appointed by the Leader of the Council as follows:

  • Planning, regeneration, and economic development: Councillor Ben Dowling
  • Education: Councillor Suzy Horton
  • Children’s services: Councillor Rob Wood
  • Adult social care and public health: Councillor Matthew Winnington
  • Environment and community safety: Councillor Dave Ashmore
  • Resources: Councillor Jeanette Smith
  • Housing: Councillor Darren Sanders
  • Traffic and transportation: Councillor Lynne Stagg
  • Culture, leisure, and sport: Councillor Steve Pitt

Also earlier today, councillors elected a new Lord Mayor of Portsmouth, Councillor Lee Mason, and a new Deputy Lord Mayor, Councillor David Fuller.